top of page
  • Writer's picturebrittany jade nichol

My Favorite YYC Date Ideas






Spending quality time with my darling tops the list of my favorite activities. I wanted to share a few of my favorite adventures in Calgary for my lovely readers to enjoy!


 

THE DOWNTOWN DATE

Summertime in downtown Calgary is buzzing with vibrant energy. When I'm feeling lively, I love heading to the city center to find something yummy to stuff my face with.



$$$: Sky 360- Calgary Tower



One of my new found favorite restaurants thanks to the date my love took me on recently. The view is spectacular, and the floor rotates to provide an incomparable panorama of the city and the rocky mountains. The ambiance is beautifully romantic and most importantly, the cuisine is delicious! Pro Tip: Time dinner for sunset, tip attained per my thoughtful fiance. Charm her pants off! (you're welcome)



$$: The Pidgeon Hole



Whimsical & unique, this little gem on 17th ave is a beloved destination of mine! Award-winning chefs prepare small dishes to enjoy in variety with your date (if your date is the wine, it'll be a perfect match) The experience, atmosphere and service is, in my opinion, unmatched in YYC.








$: Long Romantic Walk to the Food Truck



There is something adorable and entertaining about a stroll through downtown YYC. with beautiful scenery like Princes Island Park and kooky folk at every turn, it'll make for an amusing date. You may even run into one of Calgary's famous food trucks.







 

THE BREAKFAST DATE

because the only thing better than waking up next to the love of my life is indulging in some BAE with bae.


$$: Cora's



Classic and one of my most cherished breakfast places, Cora's never disappoints with it's artistic fruit creations and yummy eggs bennies. Crème dela crème.


$: The Brok'n Yolk

this jewel is my all time favorite place for a B&E. There's something in those recipes that trump most traditional breakfast joints in town.





 

THE STAY AT HOME DATE



$: Now, I wont bore you with the typical Netflix & pizza ideas (although it never fails). My most creative & romantic find for staying in has been fondue night! Chocolate & cheese are probably two of the best things known to mankind. Candlelight doesn't hurt the enchantment either.








 

THE ICE CREAM DATE



Whether my love is melting my heart or ice scream because he's driving me crazy, it's always a good time for some sweets. (reminder: when I die, engrave on my tombstone: "not appreciating my puns while I was alive was a grave mistake")



$: My Favorite Ice Cream Shoppe

IT'S LITERALLY MY FAVORITE ICE CREAM SHOP. Nostalgia and lots of flavors draw me to this cute shop. My mom used to take us here as the ultimate summer night treat. They are open late which makes it a lovely spot for an ice cream date.







$: Annie's

Located by The Ranche in Fish Creek Park, this historical, quaint farmhouse was moved to its current spot in 1905. I love sitting on the porch enjoying a treat after a walk or bike ride through the park. One of the sweetest little parlors in town!







$: Village Ice Cream

Renowned for it's hipsteresque vibes in East Village, the flavors are truly unique and worth the regular line-ups. You can't buy happiness but you can buy ice-cream and it's pretty much the same thing. New cone, who dis







 

THE OUTDOOR DATE

When Calgary weather permits, I cant wait to be in the sun with my hunny. I'm outdoorsy in the sense that I like getting drunk on patios, if that counts. (it counts)

$: HIKING OR A PICNIC



What better way to spend quality time than to climb a mountain together? I love discovering new adventures with Elisha in our beautiful backyard that is Kananaskis, even if he does threaten me as bear-bait.


$: Play Sports!

I feel very bonded with my man when I do what he loves, and a game of hockey, soccer or tennis are my favorite to play! Dates like these lead to lots of laughs (mostly at my expense)








$$$: Attend a Local Sports Game!

My hunny loves football and I have so much fun going to #calgary stampeders games with him! moderately priced and so much opportunity to stuff my face with endless BBQ.









 

THE OUT OF TOWN DATE




Being the location of my future husbands unforgettable proposal, Banff has a special place in my heart. I find it full of picturesque scenery from the mountains to the charming town itself. It is most absolutely full of romance!


$$$$: The Grizzly House

My all-time favorite dining experience to date. Impeccable service and unforgettable dishes with a unique woodsy vibe that makes my soul happy. With a unique selection of meats from venetian to kangaroo cooked yourself on a table-top hot stone, it truly is a distinguished adventure.



$$$: Brunch at the Fairmont Banff Springs

Mostly due to fantastic company, this was one of the greatest days of my life! The buffet is truly to die for, as you could only expect from the Fairmont. (I dream of Salmon Eggs Benedict) It's easy to spend all day working off the 176 item selection of brunch by exploring the magnificence of the castle and grounds.



$$$: Private Horse & Carriage Ride

The Disney magic is alive as you are taken through the valley in an adorable horse drawn carriage, snuggled in buffalo fur with your love. They provide champagne and chocolate to set the mood for the cutest date ever.













12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page